The principles as outlined in the No Regrets Charter are based on careful definitions of each of the domains of social life: ecology, economics, politics and culture (elaborated on this page).

The practical propositions developed in the No Regrets Charter are based on a systematic elaboration of the meaning of those domains, with each domain understood in terms of seven subdomains or perspectives (mapped on this page for the domain of politics).

A Definition of Politics

The political is defined as a social domain that emphasizes practices and meanings associated with basic issues of social power as they pertain to the organization, authorization, legitimation and regulation of a social life held-in-common.

The parameters of this area thus extend beyond the conventional sense of politics to include social relations in general. They cross the public/private divide, itself in formal terms a modern construct. The key related concept here is a ‘social life held-in-common’. While it is true that not everything that is done in the private or public realm is political just because it may have possible consequences for issues of the organization, authorization, legitimation and regulation of a social life held-in-common, where questions of power are directly involved in a pattern of practices or set of meanings this is political. Political issues, except perhaps direct governance questions, are often left out of considerations of climate change adaptation. However, they are critical to managing the complexity of the processes for responding to such a all-encompassing challenge.

Perspectives and Aspects of Politics

The seven principles in the political domain of the No Regrets Charter are organized around the following seven perspectives (and the seven aspects that in turn sit beneath each of those variables):

  1. Organization and Governance
    1. Legitimacy and Respect
    2. Leadership and Agency
    3. Planning and Vision
    4. Administration and Bureaucracy
    5. Authority and Sovereignty
    6. Transparency and Clarity
    7. Monitoring and Reflection
  2. Law and Justice
    1. Rights and Rules
    2. Order and Civility
    3. Obligations and Responsibilities
    4. Impartiality and Equality
    5. Fairness and Prudence
    6. Judgement and Penalty
    7. Monitoring and Reflection
  3. Communication and Critique
    1. Interchange and Expression
    2. News and Information
    3. Accessibility and Openness
    4. Opinion and Analysis
    5. Dissent and Protest
    6. Privacy and Respect
    7. Monitoring and Reflection
  4. Representation and Negotiation
    1. Agency and Advocacy
    2. Participation and Inclusion
    3. Democracy and Liberty
    4. Access and Consultation
    5. Civility and Comity
    6. Contestation and Standing
    7. Monitoring and Reflection
  5. Security and Accord
    1. Human Security and Defence
    2. Safety and Support
    3. Personal and Domestic Security
    4. Protection and Shelter
    5. Refuge and Sanctuary
    6. Insurance and Assurance
    7. Monitoring and Reflection
  6. Dialogue and Reconciliation
    1. Process and Recognition
    2. Truth and Verity
    3. Mediation and Intercession
    4. Trust and Faith
    5. Remembrance and Redemption
    6. Reception and Hospitality
    7. Monitoring and Reflection
  7. Ethics and Accountability
    1. Principles and Protocols
    2. Obligation and Responsibility
    3. Integrity and Virtue
    4. Observance and Visibility
    5. Prescription and Contention
    6. Acquittal and Consequence
    7. Monitoring and Reflection

Comments are closed

  • Translate